Who I am Following, Curing/Smoking, and More

Following

First I would like to say that I am following to amazing blogs:

First is http://www.disneyfoodblog.com because of my love for Disney & how much I love seeing information about the different food items that are new or on limited release, etc.

Second is http://chefnedra.com . I came upon this blog when she came across my page. I love that she has done the Disney College Program (which I have done as well) & she is in Hell’s Kitchen which is one of my favorite shows.

I am also following two twitter accounts:

First is https://twitter.com/FoodNetwork because of my love for food. I love watching this channel to get ideas on food, learn more & watch to see what is around in the culinary world.

Second is https://twitter.com/GordonRamsay because he is my favorite chef to watch on his shows & to see along his culinary career.

In my Broadcasting class…

We chose a subject to do a feature story on. I did my feature on geocaching, which is a new hobby of mine that I began in June of this year.

Click Here to see the video.

In Baking ….

We made crepes, biscuits, & scones.

I made crepes a lot when I was younger with my paw-paw. It was great to see these made again & be so delicious. I also learned to make a simple cream cheese filling that complimented the crepes & strawberries nicely.

IMAG1461IMAG1464IMAG1466

We also practiced making biscuits for our practicals. It was great to learn how to make biscuits from scratch & get feedback to see how you’ve done. Learning the technique to incorporate the butter & how the dough needs to be flat to keep the flat top seen on biscuits.

IMAG1458 IMAG1462 IMAG1471

Scones were another item made. We did two different types: drop & triangle cut.

IMAG1454 IMAG1455

In Garde Manger Lab …

We learned about curing & smoking. It was great to learn about this to know more about preserving food items & how to give food a great smoky flavor.

First we learned about using the meats from a rabbit. We were able to fry up the tenderloins while the other portions were used for the rabbit confit.  I did try the fried rabbit tenderloin, and I have to say I was surprised to like it a lot. It was my first time eating it so I was worried about the texture or flavor of it but it had a very nice flavor to it.

We made Tasso which I found had a really great flavor to it. I think it was the best out of what we tasted for this class.

It was a great idea to use for future use of pork butt.

IMAG1446

We also learned how to cook smoked items like chicken, turkey, & oysters. I’m not too much of a fan of oysters but it’s great to use if i’m cooking for family gatherings. We also learned the difference between hot & cold smoked and the flavor it gives to the food used in a smoker.

IMAG1442 IMAG1448

We used the cold smoking for some oysters which we paired with a mignonette. (left)

We used the hot smoking for duck & salmon which we used in 2 different hashes.  (right)

Posted on September 14, 2013, in Culinary, Journalism, news and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

mydearbakes

showcasing my dear's wonderful bakes!

The Disney Life

"Make a wish and do as dreamers do"

A Life Story Through Style

Styles for Guys and Hilarious Life Antics

Phraseology & Fiction & Film, Oh My!

Everything Lit & Language

College: The Weird Way

The average life of a group of friends just trying to get by

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging